Special education

Committee on special education

 
 




CPSE/CSE Chairperson

Susan O’Connell soconnell@pvcsd.org

845 528-8130 extension 1315




SUBCOMMITTEE CHAIRS


Elementary School

Mary Sullivan

MSullivan@pvcsd.org

  1. (845)528-8130 extension 1116


Stephanie Tatto

Statto@pvcsd.org

  1. (845)528-8092 extension 1104


Middle School

Jason Kane

JKane@pvcsd.org

  1. (845)528-8101 extension 1219


High School

Eva Wayne

EWayne@pvcsd.org

  1. (845)526-7847 extension 1329


Gina Noto

GNoto@pvcsd.org

(845) 526-7847 extension 1398

 

School Age:  If your school-age child is having difficulties in school, first talk to his or her teacher.  The teacher can intervene with RTI (Response To Intervention) strategies.  RTI interventions, strategies and goals may provide the necessary supports your child needs.  It may, however, be possible that additional supports beyond RTI are needed. Many schools offer supports for students within regular education such as psychological services, speech and language improvement services, curriculum and instructional modifications and Academic Intervention Services.  If these supports are still not enough, the Instructional Support Team (IST) will meet and determine if a referral to the Committee on Special Education is warranted. 


To read more about RTI and IST, please click here.


If you have additional questions and would like to speak with the Committee on Special Education (CSE) Chairperson, Susan O’Connell, please call (845) 528-8130 extension 1315 or 1317.



 

What should you do if you feel your child needs special education?